Hats Off to the Classes of 1962 and 2012

School of Pharmacy honors graduates and alumni at the annual Alumni/Senior Awards Banquet.

May 9, 2012  This evening, over 300 people gathered at Town and Gown on the University Park Campus to celebrate School of Pharmacy achievements past and present at the annual Alumni/Senior Awards Banquet.

Dean R. Pete Vanderveen welcomed faculty, students, alumni, and friends to the event sponsored by the School’s Alumni Association. Association president Dolly Harris opened the evening with remarks about the annual event which uniquely provides a forum to congratulate those celebrating their 50th year in the profession along with those just starting their professional lives.

dean with the jungs

Honored as this year’s Outstanding Alumni were Lunny Ronnie Jung and Dianne Kwock Jung, who were on hand to receive this honor along with their sons, Nicholas and Jason. The Jungs, both alumni of the school, made a $1 million gift last year naming the Dianne Kwock Jung and Lunny Ronnie Jung Centennial Park, in front of the School.

In their comments to the audience, both Drs. Jung encouraged alumni and friends to support the School of Pharmacy. Dean Vanderveen remarked on the tremendous support the Jungs have given to the School and its students. Lunny Ronnie Jung is also a member of the School’s Board of Councilors.

The Honorary Alumnus award was bestowed on Leonard D. Schaeffer, who was unable to attend the event. Mr. Schaeffer, founding chairman and CEO of WellPoint, along with his wife, Pamela Schaeffer, provided a gift to establish the Leonard D. Schaeffer Center for Health Policy and Economics, a collaboration between the School of Pharmacy and the Price School of Public Policy. A subsequent event will be held with Mr. Schaeffer to mark this honor.

Scott Takahashi was recognized as “Preceptor of the Year.” Dr. Takahashi, an alumnus of the School, was honored for his commitment and dedication to USC students who do clinical rotations under his supervision at Kaiser Permnente-Sunset.

Thirteen members of the Class of ’62 were on hand to receive medals from the dean, marking their professional lives. Dean Vanderveen kidded the alumni that in the past recipients of these medals were asked to demonstrate dance moves from their School of Pharmacy era, “so you may be asked to do the twist, the mashed potato or the locomotion,” he challenged the laughing alumni.

The evening started with a cocktail reception in the garden and foyer of Town and Gown featuring a classical guitarist. Once guests filed into the main dining area, master of ceremonies Michael Wincor, associate dean of global initiative and technology, presided over the event which included the presentation of wide range of over twenty-five awards to the new graduates.

Among the award winners were Grace Kim and Joseph Pai, each receiving the Merck Award in recognition of their 4.0 grade point averages. Shenche Hshieh and Artak Kerimian also received Merck Awards, each with a 3.99 GPA.

The evening ended with brief remarks by Aileen Chu, Class of 2012 president, followed by a resounding goodnight from the Trojan Band.